This directory lists faculty, staff, students, and associates affiliated with the University of Florida Herbarium (FLAS) collections in Dickinson Hall.

If you do not find the person you are looking for in this list, try the following:

Florida Museum of Natural History Directory

University of Florida Directories

UF Biology Dept. Directory


General inquiries: herb@flmnh.ufl.edu

Administrative matters (grants and collaborations, etc.):

Lucas C. Majure, Curator of the Herbarium
University of Florida Herbarium
Florida Museum of Natural History
379 Dickinson Hall, PO Box 117800
Gainesville, FL 32611-7800
Ph.: 352-273-1990
lmajure@floridamuseum.ufl.edu

Vascular, algal, bryophyte, lichen, seed, and wood collection-related matters (loans, exchange, database, visitation):

Alan R. Franck, Herbarium Collection Manager
University of Florida Herbarium
Florida Museum of Natural History
379 Dickinson Hall, PO Box 117800
Gainesville, FL 32611-7800
Ph.: 352-273-1984
francka@ufl.edu

Plant identification and UF/IFAS Extension:

Marc S. Frank, Extension Botanist & Associate Collection Manager
University of Florida Herbarium
Florida Museum of Natural History
379 Dickinson Hall, PO Box 117800
Gainesville, FL 32611-7800
Ph.: 352-273-1994
mfrank@flmnh.ufl.edu

Informatics:

Nico Cellinese, Curator, Herbarium & Informatics
University of Florida Herbarium
Florida Museum of Natural History
354 Dickinson Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-7800
Ph.: 352-273-1979
ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu

Fungal collection-related matters (loans, exchange, database, visitation):

Matthew E. Smith, Curator of the Fungal Herbarium
Dept. of Plant Pathology
2527 Fifield Hall, 2570 Hull Rd.
University of Florida
PO Box 110680
Gainesville, FL 32611-0680
Ph.: 352-273-2837
trufflesmith@ufl.edu

Current Herbarium Staff & Students

Staff Directory

Last Name First Name Title Division Phone Facility Email Address
Akhter Ammar Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall ammar.akhter@ufl.edu
Arellano Sergio Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall sarellano@ufl.edu
Breuer Benjamin Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall bbreuer@ufl.edu
Chaine Isabella Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall isabellachaine@ufl.edu
Connealy Colin OPS Herbarium (352) 273-1960 Dickinson Hall colinconnealy@ufl.edu
DePiazza Gisella OPS Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall gisella.depiazza@ufl.edu
Edmonds David OPS Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall d.edmonds@ufl.edu
Fernandez Leonardo Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall fernandez.l@ufl.edu
Franck Alan Collections Manager II Herbarium (352) 273-1984 Dickinson Hall francka@floridamuseum.ufl.edu
Frank Marc Biological Scientist III Herbarium (352) 273-1994 Dickinson Hall mfrank@flmnh.ufl.edu
Good God Bruna Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall brunagoodgod@ufl.edu
Jessee Brittany OPS Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall bjessee@ufl.edu
Jimenez Vargas Jose Grad Assistant Herbarium (352) 392-1721 Dickinson Hall jimenezvargas.je@ufl.edu
Joshi Advay OPS Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall advay.joshi@ufl.edu
Loya Isabella OPS Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall isabellaloya@ufl.edu
Majure Lucas Assistant Curator Herbarium (352) 273-2102 Dickinson Hall lmajure@floridamuseum.ufl.edu
Martin Cecelia Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall cecelia.martin@ufl.edu
McCallum Jessica Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall jessicamccallum@ufl.edu
Murphy Thomas Grad Assistant Herbarium Dickinson Hall tmurphy1@ufl.edu
Ore Rengifo Malu Grad Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall m.orerengifo@ufl.edu
Philippe-Fisher Gabriel Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall philippe.gabriel@ufl.edu
Radtke Tyler Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall t.radtke@ufl.edu
Romeiro Brito Monique Postdoctoral Associate Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall mromeirobrito@ufl.edu
Sanders Grace Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall sanders.g@ufl.edu
Unzueta Carolina Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 392-8314 Dickinson Hall cunzueta@ufl.edu
Wohlhueter Alex Student Assistant Herbarium (352) 273-1990 Dickinson Hall awohlhueter@ufl.edu

Associated Staff & Research Associates

 

Name / Title Email Phone Location
Research Interests
Abbott, J. Richard
Courtesy Assistant Scientist FLMNH; Curator at UAM
badiera@yahoo.com 870-460-1165 University of Arkansas at Monticello
Phylogenetics of Polygalaceae; flora of Florida; DNA barcoding; general plant identification with a focus on North America and the tropics
Blanchard, Jr., Dr. Orland J.
Research Associate
Orland.Blanchard@liu.edu 352-273-1990 379 Dickinson
Systematics of Malvaceae
Davis, S. Barry
Herbarium Systematics Research Volunteer
taxon@flmnh.ufl.edu 352-273-1990 379 Dickinson
Plant Identification and Information Service; Asteraceae; Florida flora

 

Jacono, Dr. Colette
Research Associate; USDA National Taxonomist – Botany

Colette.Jacono@usda.gov National Identification Services, USDA-APHIS-PPQ, 10300 Baltimore Ave., Bldg. 308, Rm. 319 BARC-East, Beltsville, MD 20705-2325
Judd, Dr. Walter S.
Biology Department Emeritus Faculty
lyonia@ufl.edu 352-273-1983 378 Dickinson
Vascular plant systematics, esp. Melastomataceae and Ericaceae; Florida and West Indian floras, esp. Haiti and the Dominican Republic; Generic Flora of the Southeastern United States project
Lott, Terry A.
Biological Scientist
lott@flmnh.ufl.edu 352-273-1933 208 Dickinson
Paleobotany; insect host plant interaction
Manchester, Dr. Steven
Museum Associate Curator
steven@flmnh.ufl.edu 352-273-1935 Dickinson (Paleobotany group)
Paleobotany
Smith, Dr. Matthew E. Curator of the Fungal Herbarium, Asst. Professor, Plant Pathology Dept. trufflesmith@ufl.edu 352-273-2837 Dept. of Plant Pathology, 2527 Fifield Hall, 2570 Hull Rd., University of Florida, PO Box 110680, Gainesville, FL 32611-0680
(Web page)
Soltis, Dr. Douglas
Biology Department Faculty
dsoltis@botany.ufl.edu 352-273-1963 Dickinson (Molecular Systematics group)
Soltis, Dr. Pamela
Museum Curator
psoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu 352-273-1964 Dickinson (Molecular Systematics group)
Williams, Dr. Norris H.
Emeritus Museum Curator
orchid@flmnh.ufl.edu 352-273-1982 385B Dickinson
Systematics and evolution of Orchidaceae
Willis, Caro
Collections Manager
caroline.willis@ufl.edu 352-273-2837 2523 Fifield Hall, University of Florida, Dept. of Plant Pathology, PO Box 110680, Gainesville, FL 32611-0680

Former Staff, Students, and Research Associates

Please note: we do not keep this list completely up to date. An internet search may provide more current information.

Name / Title Emai Phone Location
Research Interests (while at University of Florida)
Beaman, Dr. John H.
†Former Courtesy Curator
We are deeply sorry that Dr. Beaman passed away in the summer of 2015.
Flora of Mt. Kinabalu; Borneo; alpine flora of Mexico and Guatemala
Beaman, Dr. Reed S.
Former Assoc. Curator, Informatics
rsbeaman@nsf.gov 703-292-7163 Program Director, NSF DBI
Informatics; Flora of Mount Kinabalu; Systematics of Elatostema (Urticaceae) and Polyosma (Escalloniaceae);BioGeoMancer; Herbis; Tolkin.
Benny, Dr. Gerald
Former Mycological Collection Manager; Plant Pathology Dept. Staff
gbenny@ufl.edu 352-273-4684 Building 737
Zygomycete and plectomycete development and taxonomy
Blanco Coto, Mario
Former Graduate Student, now Director at Jardín Botánico Lankester
mario.blancocoto@ucr.ac.cr Jardín Botánico Lankester, Universidad de Costa Rica, Cartago, Costa Rica
Orchidaceae; Aristolochiaceae; Costa Rican flora; plant functional morphology; pollination biology; systematics of Lockhartia (Orchidaceae)
Carlsward, Barbara S.
Research Associate and Former Graduate Student
bscarlsward@eiu.edu 217-581-3223 Eastern Illinois University, Charleston, IL
Anatomy & molecular phylogenetics of Orchidaceae (Vandeae).
Corogin, Dr. Paul
Former Graduate Student
Paul.Corogin@FreshFromFlorida.com 352-395-4702 FDACS/Division of Plant Industry, Gainesville, FL
Plant systematics; Florida flora
Dressler, Dr. Robert L.
Former Research Associate
Currently at Jardín Botánico Lankester, Costa Rica.
Systematics and pollination biology of Orchidaceae
Edwards, Christine (Christy)
Former Graduate Student
christy.edwards@mobot.org 314-577-9457 Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, MO
Plant systematics and population genetics of Conradina (Lamiaceae)
Endara, Dr. Lorena (Web page)
Post-Doc Biology Dept. (Former PEN Project Manager and Graduate Student)
lendara@flmnh.ufl.edu 218 Carr Hall
Orchidaceae; systematics of the Pleurothallidinae (Orchidaceae); Endemic orchids of Ecuador; Evolutionary history of Scaphosepalum (Orchidaceae); Pollination mechanisms of Dracula orchids (Pleurothallidinae); Diversification of Andean Orchids, Character evolution and morphological datasets
Godden, Grant T.
Former Graduate Student
Phylogeny of Lamiaceae, particularly Southwestern clades; Orchidaceae
Griffin III, Dr. Dana
Former Curator of the Bryophyte and Lichen Collection
(contact the herbarium)
Bryophytes; lichens
Guala, Dr. Gerald “Stinger”Former Graduate Student gguala@usgs.gov U.S. Geological Survey, 12201 Sunrise Valley Drive, MS 302, Reston, VA 20192
Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON), Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS), Poaceae, esp. bamboos; monographic revisions of Agenium and Homozeugos (Poaceae), Recipient of the 1996 Delzie Demaree Travel Award
Healy, Rosanne
Former Fungal Herbarium Collection Manager
Hubbard, Jeffery
Former Graduate Student
raybot66@ufl.edu Greenhouse Manager, Dept. of Biology, 210 Bartram Hall, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611-8525
Plant systematics; Florida flora
Ionta, Dr. Gretchen
Former Postdoctoral Associate and Graduate Student
gretchen.ionta@gcsu.edu Georgia College, Milledgeville, GA
Apocynaceae (Periplocoideae) systematics
James, Dr. Shelley A.
Formerly with iDigBio.org
Collections Manager, National Herbarium of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
Molecular systematics; tropical ecology, invasive species; Pacific Island floras
Kimbrough, Dr. James W.
†Former Curator of the Mycological Herbarium; Plant Pathology Faculty
Dr. James Kimbrough passed away on 21 January 2017. He served as curator of the UF Fungal Herbarium for many decades and taught Mycology at UF for 46 years.
Lindler, Trudy
Former Program Assistant
Herbarium accounting and record management
Molgo, Dr. Iwan
Former Graduate Student
imolgo@ufl.edu Univ. of Suriname, Paramaribo, Suriname
Polyploidy in the Callisia graminea complex (Commelinaceae); Orchidaceae; orchids of Suriname
Neubig, Dr. Kurt M. (Web page)
Former Graduate Student
kneubig@siu.edu Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, IL
Orchidaceae; systematics of Dichaea (Orchidaceae); western North American Astereae (Asteraceae)
Penneys, Dr. Darin S.
Former Graduate Student
penneysd@uncw.edu Univ. of North Carolina, Wilmington
Melastomataceae (web site); Systematics of Charianthus (Melastomataceae); Systematics of the Blakeeae (Melastomataceae), etc.
Perkins, Kent D.
Former FLAS Collections Manager
Herbarium computerization and data management; endangered species; types of the UF Herbarium
Porter-Utley, Kristen
Former Graduate Student
kporterutley@keene.edu Keene State College, Keene, NH
Systematics of Passiflora section Cieca (Passifloraceae); Ethnobotany
Skean, Dr. James Dan
Former Graduate Student
dskean@albion.edu 517-629-0525 Department of Biology, Albion College
Melastomataceae systematics; West Indian floristics
Whitten, Dr. W. Mark
†Former Museum Staff Researcher
Systematics and pollination biology of Orchidaceae
Zomlefer, Dr. Wendy B.
Former Research Associate
wendyz@plantbio.uga.edu University of Georgia Herbarium
Vascular plant systematics; molecular systematics of the Melanthiaceae; Generic Flora of the Southeastern United States project; types of the UF Herbarium