To support the effort to contain the spread of COVID-19, the Florida Museum is temporarily closed to the public until further notice. More Info

Our Impact By the Numbers for FY 2016/2017

Staff and Faculty Teaching

35 Courses taught by Museum faculty
93 Independent Studies supervised
105 Graduate committees chaired
166 Graduate committees served

Collections and Research

19 States including Florida where Museum scientists conducted research
24 Countries including the U.S. where Museum scientists conducted research
40+ Million total specimens
65 Grants and contracts worth $8.3 million
260 Undergraduates and postdoctoral
fellows working in collections
189 Peer-reviewed publications
495 Collection loans of 85,029 specimens and artifacts
940 Scientific and other visitors to collections
21,274 Accessions to collections
329,633 New specimens and artifacts cataloged

Latest Awards + Honors

Read More Research + Science News…

Faculty Special Achievements in FY 2016/2017

Jonathan BlochDr. Jonathan Bloch

  • Received a University of Florida Term Professorship Award
Jaret DanielsDr. Jaret Daniels

  • Received a University of Florida Research Foundation Professorship Award
Douglas S. JonesDr. Douglas S. Jones

  • Received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Florida Association of Museums
Akito KawaharaDr. Akito Kawahara

  • Received a University of Florida Term Professorship Award
William KeeganDr. William Keegan

  • Named the Doris Stone Endowment Lecturer for the Archaeological Institute of America National Speakers Program
Michal KowalewskiDr. Michal Kowalewski

  • Appointed as a 2017-2018 Distinguished Speaker by the Paleontological Society Council
Bruce MacFaddenDr. Bruce MacFadden

  • Selected as president-elect of the Paleontological Society
Darcie MacMahonDarcie MacMahon

  • Became president of the Southeastern Museums Conference
Steven ManchesterDr. Steven Manchester

  • Elected president of the International Organisation of Palaeobotany
William MarquardtDr. William Marquardt

  • Received the Southeastern Archaeological Conference Lifetime Achievement Award
Douglas SoltisDr. Douglas Soltis

  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences
Neill WallisDr. Neill Wallis

  • Received a University of Florida Term Professorship Award