Department Chair

Jonathan Bloch

Jonathan BlochVertebrate Paleontology
Department Chair and Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Geological Sciences, and Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1938 | jbloch@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 222
Interests: Eocene mammals, mammalian respones to climate change, phylogenetics, functional morphology
Research Gate | Google Scholar | ORCID

 

Natural History Department Assistant

Cassandra Watkins

Administrative Support Assistant III
Department of Natural History
352-273-1941 | cwatkins@floridamuseum.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall 238

 

Full Time Faculty

David Blackburn

David BlackburnHerpetology
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact:
352-273-1943 | dblackburn@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 262
Interests:
Diversity, evolution, and conservation of amphibians, especially African frogs
Lab Website
 | Research Gate | Google Scholar | ORCID | Twitter

Nico Cellinese

Nico CellineseHerbarium and Informatics
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1979 | ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 354
Interests: Plant systematics, evolution, biogeography, informatics
Lab Website | Twitter

Andre Chanderbali

Andre ChanderbaliMolecular Systematics and Evolutionary Genetics
Assistant Scientist
Contact: 352-273-1976 | achander@ufl.edu
Office: Bartram Hall
Interests: Lauraceae systematics; floral evolutionary genetics
Lab Website | Research Gate

Charles Cobb

Charles CobbHistorical Archaeology
James E. Lockwood Jr., Professor of Historical Archaeology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1916 | ccobb@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 102
Interests: Archaeology, cultural history, history of art, history of religion
Research Gate

Laura Cotton

Laura CottonMicropaleontology
Curator, Assistant Professor of Geology
Affiliate Appointments: Geology
Contact: 352-273-31939 | lcotton@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 226
Interests: Micropaleontology, Cenozoic paleoclimate, biodiversity, biostratigraphy, evolutionary trends in foraminifera
Lab Website | Google scholar

Jaret Daniels

Jaret DanielsMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Entomology and Nematology
Contact: 352-273-2022 | jdaniels@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall
Interests: Imperiled butterfly recovery, native insect pollinator conservation
Research Gate

Kitty Emery

Kitty EmeryEnvironmental Archaeology
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology, Latin American Studies, Tropical Conservation and Development, School of Natural Resources and Environment
Contact: 352-273-1919 | kemery@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 114
Interests:
Mesoamerican archaeology, zooarchaeology, environmental archaeology
Lab Website | Research Gate | ORCID | Academia.edu

Rob Guralnick

Rob GuralnickBiodiversity Informatics
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1980 | rguralnick@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 358
Interests:
Spatiotemporal changes in genetic and species diversity, occupancy modeling, spatial ecological modeling, landscape genetics, molecular phylogenetics
Lab Website | Google Scholar

Douglas Jones

Douglas JonesInvertebrate Paleontology
Director of the Museum
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1901 | dsjones@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 291
Interests: Molluscan ecology, paleoecology, stable isotopes, paleoclimate
Google Scholar

Akito Kawahara

Akito KawaharaMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Assistant Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Entomology and Nematology, UF Genetics Institute, and the School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Contact: 352-273-2018 | kawahara@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall Room 218
Interests: Insect evolution and diversity, phylogenomics, host-use evolution, biogeography
Lab Website | Research Gate | Google Scholar | ORCID | Twitter

William F. Keegan

William F. KeeganCaribbean Archaeology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1921 | keegan@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 134
Interests: economic and ecological anthropology, horticultural societies and farming systems, island archaeology, West Indian archaeology
Research Gate

Michal Kowalewski

Michal KowalewskiInvertebrate Paleontology
Jon L. and Beverly A. Thompson Chair of Invertebrate Paleontology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Geology, and Interdisciplinary Ecology
Contact: 352-273-1944 | kowalewski@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 254
Interests: invertebrate paleontology, paleoecology, taphonomy
Google Scholar | ORCID | Researcher ID

Bruce MacFadden

Bruce MacFaddenVertebrate Paleontology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Geological Sciences, and Latin American Studies
Contact: 352-273-1937 | bmacfadd@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 218
Interests: Neogene mammals, stable isotopes, paleoecology, diagenesis of fossils, science education
Google Scholar

Lucas C. Majure

Lucas Majure

University of Florida Herbarium (FLAS)
Assistant Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Latin American Studies, Tropical Conservation and Development
Contact: 352-273-2102 | lmajure@floridamuseum.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 378
Interests: Plant Systematics, reticulate evolution, morphological evolution, biogeography, Flora of the Neotropics

Research Gate | Majure Lab Website

 

Steven Manchester

Steven Manchester

Paleobotany
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1935 | steven@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 214
Interests: phylogenetic and phytogeographic history of angiosperms, Paleocene and Eocene floras
Research Gate | Google Scholar

Jacqueline Miller

Jacqueline MillerMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Entomology and Nematology
Contact: 352-273-2016 | jmiller@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall
Interests: Lepidoptera biology and systematics

Gavin Naylor

Gavin NaylorFlorida Program for Shark Research
Program Director
Contact: 352-273-1954 | gnaylor@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:  Dickinson Hall
Interests: Molecular phylogenetics, Biogeography, & Comparative anatomy of sharks and rays

Google Scholar | sharksrays.org

Max Nickerson

Max NickersonHerpetology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Latin American Studies
Contact: 352-273-1946 | maxn@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 238A
Interests:
Amphibian and reptile ecology and systematics, cryptobranchid salamanders, micro-fungi relationships with amphibians and reptiles, venom glands, effects of MS-222 on vertebrates
Research Gate

Larry Page

Larry PageIchthyology
Director of iDigBio
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1952 | lpage@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 282
Interests: Systematics, evolution, and ecology of freshwater fishes, protection of aquatic natural areas
Research Gate | Google Scholar

Gustav Paulay

Gustav PaulayInvertebrate Zoology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1948 | paulay@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 278
Interests: invertebrate zoology, evolution, diversity, biogeography
Lab WebsiteResearch Gate

David Reed

David ReedMammalogy
Associate Director for Research and Collections and Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Wildlife Ecology & Conservation, Entomology, UF Genetics Institute, and the School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Contact: 352-273-1971 | dreed@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 346
Interests: phylogenetics, coevolution, host/parasite evolution, population genetics
Lab Website | Google Scholar | Research Gate

Scott Robinson

Scott RobinsonOrnithology
Katharine Ordway Professor of Ecosystem Conservation
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1965 | srobinson@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 305
Interests:
Avian ecology, conservation biology, habitat fragmentation, avian brood parasitism
Google Scholar

Douglas Soltis

Douglas SoltisMolecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Distinguished Professor of Biology
Contact: 352-273-1963 | dsoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall
Interests: Plant biology, plant phylogeny, genome doubling, floral evolution, angiosperm diversification, phylogeography
Lab Website | Research Gate | Google Scholar

Pamela Soltis

Pamela SoltisMolecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics; Genetic Resources Repository
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Interdisciplinary Ecology; Director of UF Biodiversity Institute
Contact: 352-273-1964 | psoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 301F
Interests: Plant molecular systemics, floral evolution, polyploid evolution, phylogeography, conservation genetics
Lab Website | Research Gate

Edward Stanley

Edward StanleyHerpetology
Associate Scientist
Contact: 484-995-2881 | elstanley@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 258
Interests: Systematics and evolution of African snakes, lizards, and amphibians
Lab Website | LinkedIn | Research Gate Google Scholar

David Steadman

David SteadmanOrnithology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1969 | dws@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 320
Interests: Biogeography, systematics, community ecology, zooarchaeology, and paleontology of birds
Research Gate | Google Scholar

Neill Wallis

Neill WallisFlorida Archaeology
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1920 | nwallis@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 130
Interests: Southeastern US archaeology, pottery, provenance studies, pre-Columbian networks and communities
Google Scholar

Keith Richard Willmott

Keith Richard WillmottMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Associate Curator of Lepidoptera
Affiliate Appointments: Entomology, Biology
Contact: 352-273-2012 | kwillmott@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall
Interests: Neotropical butterfly systematics, diversity, evolution, biodiversity conservation

 

Faculty Emeritus

Kathy Deagan

Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
352-273-1916 | kd@flmnh.ufl.edu

Richard Franz

Herpetology
Emeritus Associate Scientist
352-273-1956 | lrfranz08@gmail.com

Carter Gilbert

Ichthyology
Curator Emeritus
carter_gilbert@bellsouth.net

Wayne King

Herpetology
Curator Emeritus
352-392-1721 | kaiman@flmnh.ufl.edu

William Harrison Marquardt

South Florida Archaeology and Ethnography
Curator emeritus
352-273-1917 | bilmarq@flmnh.ufl.edu

Jerald Milanich

Florida Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
jtm@ufl.edu

Susan Milbrath

Latin American Art and Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
352-273-1918 | milbrath@flmnh.ufl.edu

Norris Williams

Herbarium
Curator Emeritus
352-273-1982 | orchid@flmnh.ufl.edu

Liz Wing

Environmental Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
352-273-2101 | eswing@gator.net

Charles Woods

Mammalogy
Curator Emeritus
hutia@gaw.com