Department Chair

David Reed

David ReedMammalogy
Department Chair, Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Wildlife Ecology & Conservation, Entomology, UF Genetics Institute, and the School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Contact: 352-273-1971 | dreed@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 346
Interests: phylogenetics, coevolution, host/parasite evolution, population genetics
Lab Website | Google Scholar | Research Gate

Associate Chair

Jonathan Bloch

Jonathan BlochVertebrate Paleontology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Geological Sciences, and Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1938 | jbloch@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 222
Interests: Eocene mammals, mammalian respones to climate change, phylogenetics, functional morphology
Research Gate | Google Scholar | ORCID

Natural History Department Assistant

Pamela Dennis

Natural History Assistant
352-273-1941 pamd@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall

Full Time Faculty

David Blackburn

David BlackburnHerpetology
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact:
352-273-1943 | dblackburn@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 262
Interests:
Diversity, evolution, and conservation of amphibians, especially African frogs
Lab Website
 | Research Gate | Google Scholar | ORCID | Twitter

Nico Cellinese

Nico CellineseHerbarium and Informatics
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1979 | ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 354
Interests: Plant systematics, evolution, biogeography, informatics
Lab Website | Twitter

Charles Cobb

Charles CobbHistorical Archaeology
James E. Lockwood Jr., Professor of Historical Archaeology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1916 | ccobb@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 102
Interests: Archaeology, cultural history, history of art, history of religion
Research Gate

Jaret Daniels

Jaret DanielsMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Entomology and Nematology
Contact: 352-273-2022 | jdaniels@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall
Interests: Imperiled butterfly recovery, native insect pollinator conservation
Research Gate

Kitty Emery

Kitty EmeryEnvironmental Archaeology
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology, Latin American Studies, Tropical Conservation and Development, School of Natural Resources and Environment
Contact: 352-273-1919 | kemery@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 114
Interests:
Mesoamerican archaeology, zooarchaeology, environmental archaeology
Lab Website | Research Gate | ORCID | Academia.edu

Thomas Emmel

Thomas EmmelMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Founding Director; Curator
Affiliate Appointments: IFAS
Contact: 352-273-2006 | tcemmel@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Interests:
Butterfly conservation, microevolution, population biology, genetics
Research Gate

Rob Guralnick

Rob GuralnickBiodiversity Informatics
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1980 | rguralnick@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 358
Interests:
Spatiotemporal changes in genetic and species diversity, occupancy modeling, spatial ecological modeling, landscape genetics, molecular phylogenetics
Lab Website | Google Scholar

Douglas Jones

Douglas JonesInvertebrate Paleontology
Director of the Museum
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1901 | dsjones@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 291
Interests: Molluscan ecology, paleoecology, stable isotopes, paleoclimate
Google Scholar

Akito Kawahara

Akito KawaharaMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Assistant Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Entomology and Nematology, UF Genetics Institute, and the School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Contact: 352-273-2018 | kawahara@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall Room 218
Interests: Insect evolution and diversity, phylogenomics, host-use evolution, biogeography
Lab Website | Research Gate | Google Scholar | ORCID | Twitter

William F. Keegan

William F. KeeganCaribbean Archaeology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1921 | keegan@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 134
Interests: economic and ecological anthropology, horticultural societies and farming systems, island archaeology, West Indian archaeology
Research Gate

Michal Kowalewski

Michal KowalewskiInvertebrate Paleontology
Jon L. and Beverly A. Thompson Chair of Invertebrate Paleontology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Geology, and Interdisciplinary Ecology
Contact: 352-273-1944 | kowalewski@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 254
Interests: invertebrate paleontology, paleoecology, taphonomy
Google Scholar | ORCID | Researcher ID

Bruce MacFadden

Bruce MacFaddenVertebrate Paleontology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Geological Sciences, and Latin American Studies
Contact: 352-273-1937 | bmacfadd@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 218
Interests: Neogene mammals, stable isotopes, paleoecology, diagenesis of fossils, science education
Google Scholar

Steven Manchester

Steven Manchester

Paleobotany
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1935 | steven@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 214
Interests: phylogenetic and phytogeographic history of angiosperms, Paleocene and Eocene floras
Research Gate | Google Scholar

William Harrison Marquardt

William Harrison MarquardtSouth Florida Archaeology and Ethnography
John S. and James L. Knight Curator
Contact: 352-273-1917 | bilmarq@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 106
Interests: Caribbean and SE US archeology, emergence of sociopolitical complexity, state formation, archaeological site formation and deformation
Research Gate

Susan Milbrath

Susan MilbrathLatin American Art and Archaeology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1918 | milbrath@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 110
Interests: Preclassic Mesoamerica, Postclassic Maya and Central Mexico, Archaeoastronomy and Ethnoastronomy, and Mesoamerican Calendar systems
Academia.edu

Jacqueline Miller

Jacqueline MillerMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Entomology and Nematology
Contact: 352-273-2016 | jmiller@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall
Interests: Lepidoptera biology and systematics

Max Nickerson

Max NickersonHerpetology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Latin American Studies
Contact: 352-273-1946 | maxn@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 238A
Interests:
Amphibian and reptile ecology and systematics, cryptobranchid salamanders, micro-fungi relationships with amphibians and reptiles, venom glands, effects of MS-222 on vertebrates
Research Gate

Larry Page

Larry PageIchthyology
Director of iDigBio
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1952 | lpage@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 282
Interests: Systematics, evolution, and ecology of freshwater fishes, protection of aquatic natural areas
Research Gate | Google Scholar

Gustav Paulay

Gustav PaulayInvertebrate Zoology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1948 | paulay@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 278
Interests: invertebrate zoology, evolution, diversity, biogeography
Lab WebsiteResearch Gate

 

Scott Robinson

Scott RobinsonOrnithology
Katharine Ordway Professor of Ecosystem Conservation
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1965 | srobinson@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 305
Interests:
Avian ecology, conservation biology, habitat fragmentation, avian brood parasitism
Google Scholar

Douglas Soltis

Douglas SoltisMolecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Distinguished Professor of Biology
Contact: 352-273-1963 | dsoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall
Interests: Plant biology, plant phylogeny, genome doubling, floral evolution, angiosperm diversification, phylogeography
Lab Website | Research Gate | Google Scholar

Pamela Soltis

Pamela SoltisMolecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics; Genetic Resources Repository
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology, Interdisciplinary Ecology; Director of UF Biodiversity Institute
Contact: 352-273-1964 | psoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 301F
Interests: Plant molecular systemics, floral evolution, polyploid evolution, phylogeography, conservation genetics
Lab Website | Research Gate

David Steadman

David SteadmanOrnithology
Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1969 | dws@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office:
Dickinson Hall Room 320
Interests: Biogeography, systematics, community ecology, zooarchaeology, and paleontology of birds
Research Gate | Google Scholar

Neill Wallis

Neill WallisFlorida Archaeology
Associate Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Anthropology
Contact: 352-273-1920 | nwallis@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 130
Interests: Southeastern US archaeology, pottery, provenance studies, pre-Columbian networks and communities
Google Scholar

Norris Williams

Norris WilliamsHerbarium
Keeper of the Herbarium; Curator
Affiliate Appointments: Biology
Contact: 352-273-1982 | orchid@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 374
Interests: Systematics and evolution of orchids, molecular systematics, phylogenetics, pollination mechanisms, chemistry of floral fragrances
Research Gate | ORCID

Keith Richard Willmott

Keith Richard WillmottMcGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Associate Curator of Lepidoptera
Affiliate Appointments: Entomology, Biology
Contact: 352-273-2012 | kwillmott@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Hall
Interests: Neotropical butterfly systematics, diversity, evolution, biodiversity conservation

Faculty Emeritus

Kathy Deagan

Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
352-273-1916 | kd@flmnh.ufl.edu

Richard Franz

Herpetology
Emeritus Associate Scientist
352-273-1956 | lrfranz08@gmail.com

Carter Gilbert

Ichthyology
Curator Emeritus
carter_gilbert@bellsouth.net

Wayne King

Herpetology
Curator Emeritus
352-392-1721 | kaiman@flmnh.ufl.edu

Jerald Milanich

Florida Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
jtm@ufl.edu

Liz Wing

Environmental Archaeology
Curator Emeritus
352-273-2101 | eswing@gator.net

Charles Woods

Mammalogy
Curator Emeritus
hutia@gaw.com