Current Post-docs

Julie Allen

Bioinformatics
Advisor: Rob Guralnick
Contact: 352-294-2086 | juliema@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 359
Google Scholar

Narayani Barve

Informatics
Advisor: Rob Guralnick
Contact: 352-294-2086 | nbarve@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 359

 

Vijay Barve

Informatics
Advisor: Rob Guralnick
Contact: 352-294-2086 | vbarve@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 359
Interests:
Biodiversity informatics; citizen science; Lepidoptera
Research Gate     LinkedIn     Google Scholar     GitHub

Jesse Breinholt

McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Contact:
 jbreinholt@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Center
Interests:
Phylogenetics, population genetics, crustaceans
Lab Group     Research Gate     LinkedIn     Google Scholar

Andre Chanderbali

Molecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Advisor: Soltis
Contact: 352-273-1976 | achander@ufl.edu
Office: Bartram Hall
Interests:
Lauraceae systematics; floral evolutionary genetics
Lab Group     Research Gate

Patrick Ciccotto

Ichthyology
Advisor: Larry Page
Contact: pciccotto@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall
Interests:
Freshwater fish ecology and evolution, behavioral ecology, taxonomy, biodiversity
Research Gate     Google Scholar

Ryan Folk

Molecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Advisor: Rob Guralnick
Contact: 330-801-3078 | rfolk@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall
Interests:
Ecological niche modeling, phylogenomics, molecular detection of hybridization, collections-based research, systematics and taxonomy
Lab Group    Research Gate     Google Scholar

Lauren Gonzales

Vertebrate Paleontology & Herpetology
Advisor: Jonathan Bloch & David Blackburn
Contact:
 lgonzales@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 258
Interests: 
Anthropology, paleontology, functional morphology
Research Gate

Chris Hamilton

McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Contact: 469-222-5653 | chamilton@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Center
Interests:
Arachnida; Lepidoptera (Bombycoidea); molecular systematics, phylogenetics; understanding processes driving diversification
Lab Group     Research Gate     Google Scholar

Peter Hosner

Ornithology
idioptilon@gmail.com
Interests: Molecular phylogenetics of birds, evolutionary biology, conservation
Research Gate     Google Scholar


Ronny Leder

Ichthyology
Advisor: Bruce MacFadden
Contact: 352-273-1957 | leder.ronnymaik@gmail.com
Office: Dickinson Hall
Interests:
Shark teeth morphometrics; fossil fish, mollusks, coral reefs, plants; sinkholes, iDigBio, FOSSIL Project
Research Gate     LinkedIn

Michelle LeFebvre

Caribbean and Environmental Archaeology
Advisor: William Keegan and Kitty Emery
Contact: 352-273-9121 | mlefebvre@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 134
Interests:
Zooarchaeology, Caribbean archaeology, guinea pigs at archeological sites
Academia.edu      Research Gate     Google Scholar

 

Francois Michonneau

Invertebrate Zoology
Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Contact: 352-273-1823 | fmichon@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall
Interests:
Marine invertebrate biodiversity, evolution, conservation; marine ecology
Research Gate     Google Scholar     ORCID

Rafał Nawrot

Rafal smilingInvertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Michal Kowalewski
Contact: 352-273-1933 | rnawrot@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 208
Interests: Biodiversity and macroecology of Cenozoic marine mollusks, conservation paleobiology
Research Gate     ORCID

Luis Felipe Opazo Mella

Invertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Michal Kowalewski
Contact: 352-273-1947 | felipe.opazo@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 208
Interests: Paleobiology, ecology of marine invertebrates, ecological modeling and biostatistics, marine ecology, global changes, quantitative analysis in biodiversity, mass extinction events

Jessica Oswald

Paleontology, Phylogenetics, Ornithology
Advisor: Steadman, Guralnick, Blackburn
Contact: 352-273-1969 | oswaldj3@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 287
Interests:
Historical diversity and distributions

Hannah Owens

Informatics
Advisors: Rob Guralnick and Akito Kawahara
Contact: 352-294-2086 | howens@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 359
Interests:
Biodiversity; species distribution modeling; biogeography; geographical ecology; comparative phylogenetics
Research Gate     LinkedIn     Google Scholar     ORCID     Twitter

Stella Palii

Molecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Advisor: Soltis
Contact: stela@ufl.edu
Lab Group

Elizabeth Petsios

Invertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Michal Kowalewski
Contact: 352-273-1947 | epetsios@floridamuseum.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 252
Interests: Predation and parasitism on echinoids; echinoid paleogenomics and phylogenetics; mass extinction ecology; end-Permian extinction recovery
Research Gate     Google Scholar

Patricio Salazar

McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Advisor: Keith Willmott
Contact: 352-273-2012 | psalazarc@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Center

Edward Stanley

Herpetology
Advisor: David Blackburn
Contact:
484-995-2881 | elstanley@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 258
Interests: Systematics and evolution of African snakes, lizards, and amphibians
Lab Website     LinkedIn     Research Gate     Google Scholar

Brian Stucky

Informatics
Advisor: Rob Guralnick
Contact: 352-294-2086 | stucky.brian@gmail.com
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 359

Miao Sun

Molecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Advisor: Soltis
Contact: 352-284-0928 | cactus@ufl.edu
Office: Dickinson Hall Room 301B
Interests:
Tree of life, phylogenetic analysis, taxonomy, bioinformatics, evolution, historical biogeography
Lab Group     Research Gate     Google Scholar     CV

Deb Triant

McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Contact: triant@flmnh.ufl.edu
Office: McGuire Center
Lab Group

 

Former Post-docs

Arthur Anker

Invertebrate Zoology
aanker@flmnh.ufl.edu

Marina S. Ascunce

Mammalogy
Advisor: David Reed

Stephanie Clark

Invertebrate Paleontology

Troy Dexter

Invertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Michal Kowalewski
Current Position: Director of Gerace Research Centre, College of the Bahamas, San Salvador, Bahamas

Marianne Espeland

Lepidoptera
Advisor: Keith Willmott
Contact: marianne.espeland@gmail.com
Current Position: Curator of Lepidoptera at the Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig
ZFMK Profile      Research Gate     Google Scholar

Nicolas Garcia Berguecio

Molecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Advisor: Soltis
Contact: nicogarciab@gmail.com
Current Position:
Universidad de Chile
Research Gate     LinkedIn

Charlotte Germain-Aubrey

Molecular Systemics and Evolutionary Genetics
Advisor: Soltis
Current Position: Climate and Environmental Integration Advisor, USAID
Research Gate     LinkedIn

Zak Gezon

McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity
Advisor: Jaret Daniels
Contact: zak.gezon@disney.com
Current Position: Conservation Program Manager – Butterflies and Pollinators; Disney’s Animal Kingdom
LinkedIn

Nathan Jud

Vertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Jonathan Bloch
Years Active: 2014-2016
Contact:
 nathan.jud@cornell.edu
Current Position: Post Doctoral Associate, School of Integrative Plant Science, Cornell University
Research Gate     LinkedIn     Google Scholar

Adiel Klompmaker

Invertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Michal Kowalewski
Contact: aklompma@berkeley.edu
Current Position: Post-doctoral researcher, Department of Integrative Biology, UC-Berkeley
LinkedIn     Google Scholar

Jessica E. Light

Mammalogy
Advisor: David Reed
Contact: jlight2@tamu.edu
Current Position: 
Associate Professor, Department of Wildlife & Fisheries Sciences, Texas A&M University
Lab Website

Stephan Mayor

Informatics
smayor@flmnh.ufl.edu

Paulette McFadden

Florida Archaeology
Advisor:
Neill Wallis
Contact: pmcfadden@ufl.edu
Academia.edu     LinkedIn     ORCID

Cristina Robins

Vertebrate Paleontology – PCP PIRE
Advisor: Bruce MacFadden
Years Active: 2014-2016
Contact:
 cristina.robins@sjsu.edu
Current Position: Lecturer, Geology Department, San Jose State University
Research Gate     LinkedIn     Google Scholar

Carrie Tyler

Invertebrate Paleontology
Advisor: Michal Kowalewski
Contact: tylercl@miamioh.edu
Current Position: Assistant Professor, Department of Geology and Environmental Earth Science, Miami University