The focus of this guide is on the animals that are most familiar to us: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and fish.

MESS Animals 1 guide coverMESS Animals 1 Educators’ Guide

MESS Animals 1 Materials

Included experiences:

  1. Animals, Animals
  2. Fur and Hair
  3. Animal Babies
  4. Animal Communication
  5. Birds Have Feathers
  6. Birds Hatch from Eggs
  7. Birds Have Beaks
  8. Bird Songs
  9. What Is a Reptile?
  10. Snakes
  11. Life Cycle of the Frog
  12. Frog Songs
  13. What Is a Fish?
  14. How Do Animals Move?
  15. Animal Defenses
  16. Animal Homes and Habitats


Marvelous Explorations Through Science and Stories: MESS®

Marvelous Explorations Through Science and Stories: MESS is a science-centered early childhood curriculum enhancement. MESS includes 10 month-long units that are appropriate for 3- through 5-year-old children. Each unit includes field-tested science experiences, suggestions for ways to integrate each topic across the curriculum, lists of recommended books and science materials, and ideas for involving families in children’s learning at home and in other settings.